When I Sin, Fall, Fail, Backslide…

…I need to remember these scriptural truths to hold tightER to Jesus!

Psalm 51:7 “Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean; wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.” (2016 version: “Cleanse me with bleach/baking soda and I will be clean.”)

Galatians 2:20 “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

2 Corinthians 5:21 “God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.”

I found myself going to worship and praying, asking the Holy Spirit to come and fill this place (my spirit, my soul, my flesh)… of course, I felt ashamed, guilty, and sad. It feels counter-intuitive to run to God instead of away from  Him, honestly. However, I resolved to meditate on these scriptures so I can hear the voice of Truth, which guards & undergirds my relationship and intimacy with God. (It’s my belt! My pants fall down if I don’t have my belt on 😛 Albert Tate gives a great teaching on it.) Like Steve Chua said, when we fail, we need to run towards Daddy and into His arms of love and grace, not run away from Him; He LOVES the darkness out of us.

MSW / Mental Health reflection
Since I’m a budding social work practitioner, I naturally integrate my Social Work learning when I reflect on spiritual matters. Interestingly enough (though not surprisingly), I’ve found that meditating on Scripture with the Spirit’s guidance can lead (super)naturally to mental & emotional processes similar to CBT (cognitive behavioral therapy), DBT (dialectical behavior therapy), and MI (Motivational Interviewing). The Holy Spirit might ask me some tough CBT/DBT-esque questions through the bible verses I’m reflecting on, and do some Motivational Interviewing with me to get to the heart of the matter. In the end though, however it happens, it comes down to me taking ownership and responsibility for my actions and the current situation I’m in. Then I can begin deciding to see things differently (through God’s eyes) and then responding with changed behavior.

Sanctification = Changed Behavior (but from the inside out, motivated by a dynamic process led by the Holy Spirit and Scripture).

SO COOL.

I ❤ Jesus.

Thank you, Lord.

Leave a Reply

